Who is National Home Services?

No_cellphone_sign

Thieves.  Plain and simple.

I was taken aback recently when approached by National Home Services (NHS) who claimed they were in our neighborhood to install "replacement" water heaters.  They show up dressed as workers look at your water heater and ask for your current Enbridge bill, they want your account # and are pushy in establishing a date to do an install.

I let the rep go through the whole thing, and as the date approached I started doing a little research.

My current Water heater rental is with Direct Energy.  It is 12 yrs old.

Apparently NHS installs the same tanks as Direct Energy. 
They lock you into a 15 year term and increase your monthly rate from $13 to $18. Over 15 years you will be spending an increase of $900.

They try to tell you that their unit is more energy efficient and that it will pay for the increase. They also give you 2 months free, reducing the increase to only $864, how nice of them, the parasites.

This is a giant scam

If you read the contract agreement on the back of the yellow copy, in the bottom of the left hand corner you will find the "rights under the consumer protection act" and it clearly states you can cancel this contract within ten days and with no explanation. You also can cancel within 30 days prior to the installation.

Needless to say I canceled my contract with NHS

Apparently Direct Energy is obligated to replace your water heater at around 10 to 12 years.   
I plan to call them and have them inquire as to when a replacement is scheduled.  There would be no change in rate with this.

Be on the lookout for these tards, they sweep through neighborhoods.
A great rule of thumb is don't let anyone that goes door to door into your house, nor sign any contract at the door.

Here is a recent Toronto Star article regarding NHS:
http://www.thestar.com/article/463378

And a consumer forum thread about the exact issue:
http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/showthread.php?p=8385145

18 thoughts on “Who is National Home Services?

  1. I’ve had two more house calls from National Home Service Reps, one last week and one last night. They must not coordinate with each other or with their head office.

    Morons

  2. The company – National Home Services is following unethical practices in their dealings with clients, and even employees before they’re hired.

    They cheat people by giving vague and wrong directions about their services and products. Customers will not even know what they’re getting into when one of National Home Services representatives makes them change their rental water heater tanks provider.

    Same is the case with their HIRING policies. They choose bundles of people, and give 12-hour-long training even before they’re hired. They do this by making people sign documents in hurry even before they can read them so that they don’t fall into any legal trap.

    They make people roam to 60-70 homes till night (say from 12 pm to 8 pm) with their NHS representative as a form of ‘training’, and the people who have come for interviews are not even informed that they have to DO this. They are just made to sit in a car, and asked to follow the NHS represenatative without any knowledge of roaming and visiting homes for marketing purposes when the weather is so cold! And, all these hours are ‘free training’. Hello, you’ve not even hired any one yet! But, you can’t blame them as they’ve very smartly made you sign agreement papers that it’s a long day work with no pay, no safety standards, and NO ETHICS!! It’s cruel..

    Google search is full of bad reviews of National Home Services, then why nobody’s taking any action against them?

    STOP NATIONAL HOME SERVICES FROM CHEATING PEOPLE!!

    People please DON’T apply for jobs at NHS, and don’t let any NHS representative enter your homes!!

  3. Just had them at my house and signed contract as sounded good, did google them and came up with this.

    Even though I signed some papers is not official till water heater swapped out correct? They are scheduled this Friday to install unit but I can refuse them into house and therefore there price will not show up on bill correct?

  4. Jamie,

    Glad you found my post helpful.

    Luckily the provincial government had the foresight to implement a 10 day cooling off period. Being in the same boat as you, if you feel compelled to change your mind, I would suggest taking the same course of action I took. Call into their main office and give them your account #. Be very forward and explain that you are canceling your service because you have changed your min, or felt pressured into it / misrepresented by their sales pitch and know that it is well within your rights to do so.

    If you meet any resistance let them know that you plan to contact the consumer ministry at 1-800-889-9768.

    I think they get a lot of cancels, they should process your request right there. Be sure to retain the name/details of the person you spoke to.

    Know that Direct Energy is obligated to replace your water heater at around 10 to 12 years. If you want to know the time frame they plan to swap out your water heater call them and inquire.

    From what I’ve been able to determine the tanks they use are better than Home Services and there is no cost increase to you.

    cheers

    Chris

  5. I got one too. It only makes sense. Mine was only 3 years old. I got 2 months free that saved me about $50.00 right of the bat. It burns like 25 to 30% less gas so I save money there too and I like the fact that they maintain my water heater every five years. I’ve been with Direct energy and my mother and brother were with Reliance. None of these companies have ever drained my water or anything like that. I’m in construction and understand that it’s very important to do if you want clean water and it keeps it running at it’s highest efficiency. Also there both foreign companies (direct energy is British) and they just bought the tanks from embridge and never even saw the water heaters. They just rent them to us. Same with (Reliance a American). I’m Canadian and National home services is a Canadian company so the money stays in Canada. Plus there is no rental control so with Direct and Reliance the bills go up 10 or 15% every year and at least National caps them at 3.5%. And again I got an extra 4 months free for referring my mom and brother on top of my original 2 free months. What other company will do that and I could keep referring people and get more free months. The small extra cost for the peace of mind I have is well worth it. I could keep my old tank by why pay ruffly the same for a standard product and 3 day responses when I have the best product and 1 to 4 hour response and their actually friendly.

  6. Chris,
    I have recently signed up with NHS and I am very much satisfied with their work. To answer some of your many inconsistencies NHS and Direct Engery do NOT have the same water tank (so you might want to do your homework before you open your browser, or for that matter utilize your browser before you waste our time). So the NHS Water Tank is an Energy Star with GSW, while Direct (Despite high efficiency) does not stack up in energy savings. Only an idiot would sign a contract without reading every line, so please, DO NOT take it upon yourself you manipulate others into believing that NHS is fraudulent. If they were, federal action would have been taken by now, hello.

    On another note: National Offers a free maintenance program which Direct Energy charges extra for. All the replacement venting put in is also free of charge with NHS while when I called Direct they began to bite their tongue before telling me they needed to charge hundreds of dollars.

    If you want to open a bakery, is it fair that the other surrounding bakeries in the area lie and say theirs poison in the dough just because there competition is tasteful? Chris, please tell me you are a 15 year old kid with too much time on your hands, because any capable mind knows competition is healthy. NHS is 100% CANADIAN OWNED – if NHS wasnt a great establishment maybe they wouldnt have a A- with the bureau too.

    Gee Chris, remember to do your homework first. You look silly now.

  7. Chris,
    I have recently signed up with NHS and I am very much satisfied with their work. To answer some of your many inconsistencies NHS and Direct Engery do NOT have the same water tank (so you might want to do your homework before you open your browser, or for that matter utilize your browser before you waste our time). So the NHS Water Tank is an Energy Star with GSW, while Direct (Despite high efficiency) does not stack up in energy savings. Only an idiot would sign a contract without reading every line, so please, DO NOT take it upon yourself you manipulate others into believing that NHS is fraudulent. If they were, federal action would have been taken by now, hello.

    On another note: National Offers a free maintenance program which Direct Energy charges extra for. All the replacement venting put in is also free of charge with NHS while when I called Direct they began to bite their tongue before telling me they needed to charge hundreds of dollars.

    If you want to open a bakery, is it fair that the other surrounding bakeries in the area lie and say there’s poison in the dough just because there competition is tasteful? Chris, please tell me you are a 15 year old kid with too much time on your hands, because any capable mind knows competition is healthy. NHS is 100% CANADIAN OWNED – if NHS wasnt a great establishment maybe they wouldnt have a A- with the bureau too.

    Gee Chris, remember to do your homework first. You look silly now.

  8. Same as Jamie.I found out that the tank offer was 2x the price of the competitor., -it to mention near impossible to buy out the tank, or quit. I called NHS after 12 hours, and canceled, took note of the reps name and extension #. She was polite and did not bother me at all.

    I was relieved that the process was simple and painless, after coming “that close” to being gouged.

    I declined to give a reason for not purchasing their service as that seemed like a waste of my time, since anyone working there knows perfectly well the reasons, because they must have 50 cancellations a day! But if you are inclined to let them have, I think that might be satisfying. Instead I used my energy to support the flow of information to other consumers.

    I hope 1 in 10 reads these posts, in the age of the Internet. I also sent a note to Enbridge, my gas supplier to ensure they do not accept any charges from NHS. That should not be necessary, but since the NHS had my Enbridge account info, I thought that it would be prudent. If I have any more to write about NHS, I will be posting again.

  9. I have never written a post in my life but I am so angered by National Home Services that I feel the nee. I want to make sure that no one comes close to being scammed by this deceitful company. By now, if you’ve read the other posts, you understand the basics of their pitch. They come to the door and act as if they work for the company providing your water heater and it is routine to replace it every 10 years. They will do this for no charge and it is a service they offer to loyal customers. After I started signing to have the water heater replaced, I asked why they needed my account number if they were our provider. I asked to him to leave me with literature and we would think about it. He almost became aggressive in his new sales pitch at that point. It didn’t take long to realize that this guy was a snake but I was so close to be take.

    BEWARE OF NATIONAL HOME SERVICES!

  10. well quite the NHS bashing goin on here!! shame on you who have become sheeple. I am a witness that NHS is very professional with their approach at the door. In fact i was visiting a friend earlier today and an agent knocked on her door . After explaining clearly that she was representing NHS a canadian company btw.!!!! my friend then let her in to inspect the hot water tank that my friend thought (or was lead to believe) was only 2 years old . The NHS agent honestly pointed out 2 things
    1/ that the tank was actually manufactured in 1995!!! not just 2 yrs ago. therefore its been refurbished and rented to my friend as a new tank.
    2/ even tho the agent did not ask to see her acct with reliance home comfiort

  11. well quite the NHS bashing goin on here!! shame on you who have become sheeple. I am a witness that NHS is very professional with their approach at the door. In fact i was visiting a friend earlier today and an agent knocked on her door . After explaining clearly that she was representing NHS a canadian company btw.!!!! my friend then let her in to inspect the hot water tank that my friend thought (or was lead to believe) was only 2 years old . The NHS agent honestly pointed out 2 things
    1/ that the tank was actually manufactured in 1995!!! not just 2 yrs ago. therefore its been refurbished and rented to my friend as a new tank. LIE #1
    2/ even tho the agent did not ask to see her acct with reliance home comfort
    my friend wanted to see how much she in fact had been paying for this tank she has been renting UP TIL NOW . We all discovered that reliance had been over charging her
    Now she only has a basic 40 gal tank and the NHS agent told her she would only have to pay $12.49/month+ tx for her new energy star tank from her company.
    and she would get 2months free as well and also 2months credit for each person that she refers!! My friend was paying 65.00/3months for this tanks she thought was new from reliance for a lil over 2 yrs now. So who’s doing the shafting??? Seems VERY CLEAR to me and my friend it isnt NHS
    that is being dishonest here today. Thx to that agent my friend who is a widow also will not be taken by a company like reliance any more . ps my friend almost didnt let her in the door but we were both curious since we have never heard of NHS until today. Im glad we heard her out first hand and she was nothing like how some of you described here . she was honest and not pushy at all and answered all our questions and explained things thoroughly . Just goes to show ya that not EVERYONE AT THE DOOR is there to rip you off sometimes they can show you who is really ripping you off and give you something much better or at least what you deserve . I will recommend NHS to my friends and family just based on what i actually witnessed for myself today.
    (sorry i posted the first 1/2 before i was finished by accident)

  12. you guys are so stupid
    I am really sorry to say this but you don`t have even enough knowledge to talk about Great NHS . They are going around the Ontario giving service to “the people” all for free but you guys don`t even know what you`r talking about . the rental prices are all protected so you will not see any price raising more than %3.5 and this even depends on the Canada`s economical situation .
    All the employees in NHS believe in what they are doing .
    So please just shut up when you don`t know what you are talking about and go take more informations .

  13. Hey .. they were at my door today.. they’re working the york mills and Leslie area (Banbury Rd) area today. The worker has an attitude as well.

  14. After reading this entire thing I have to say I was kind of frightened. I have been a customer with national for 2 years now and thought maybe I signed myself into something that I shouldn’t have. I think all of you are just misinformed. I did a significant amount of research after reading this and rid myself of my worries. National home services has actually been nothing but great to me. The agent/technicians that I dealt with were extremely polite. Yes it is a 15 year contract for their water tank, but when will your ever not need hot water? If you want out of the contract you can purchase their tank at any time you wish. Every month that goes by, the tank depreciates in value. And who says they are going to increase the rent 3.5% every year? Me being a customer for almost 2 and 1/2 years, have never had a rental increase. Their rental increases are capped at 3.5% in a year. I did a little research and found out that reliance gave their customers a 5 or 6% increase this year, depending on what kind of tank you have. Direct energy, which is owned by BP (british patrolium) gave their customers a 16 or 18% increase this year, because in my opinion, to cover up their little oil spill in the gulf of mexico. Has any DE or reliance customer ever read their contract? Reliance has raised their rent 3.5% 2008, another 3.5% in 2009, 4.5% 2010 and 5 or 6% this year. They have a $40 fee for cancelling, $65 fee to pick up their tank, and plus charfes for the labour to remove the tank which is set at probably over $100 an hour. I was a reliance customer for 15 years. When a national representative came to my house he showed me my tank was a 1975 john woods tank. Reliance never called to service or replace it. I signed up due to the fact that he said I could cancel within 10 days if I found something I wasn’t happy with. When the representative left, I called reliance. I asked them if I was entitled to a new tank, they said It would take a couple days and i’d recieve a phone call. About 2 weeks passed by and they never came so I didn’t cancel national. They gave me a brand new tank, which was energy star rated and they didnt charge me a thing. They took my tank out and brought it back to reliance for me AND paid my contract cancellation fee. I upgraded my tank from the one that vents out the chimaney to the one that is power vented with the motor and they did all the piping free too. Reliance was asking $380 for this. On top of that they gave me my first two months rent free. National, to my experiance is a saviour. They have rent control and a free maintenance program which no company has. They come service your tank for free, and I dont mean repairs, parts or labour. I mean flush and cleaning, service the pilot light, burner, rods, test the pressure, do a carbon emissions reading etc. They throw this maintanence program in because their a great company. A canadian
    owned company. Reliance was sold in 2007 and they didnt informl me, nor any other of their customers. Im big on supporting my own economy, especially local.

    So folks, do your research before you write. And all in all my last comment is this.
    Whos scamming who know?

  15. I Just had an interveiw with the National Home Service, They have you come in with your resume, once that’s done they have you phone them later. When you phone they tell you to come in the following monday from 8:30am-7pm to follow someone for the day to learn what there about. And there not paid. The pay is even stupid. They have no non commition bast employment, and no flat rate of pay. There so not worth the hassel.

  16. I also recently had an interview with National Home Service; I found an ad on the newspaper and contacted them and they told me to come in for an interview.

    After the first interview, I had to stay behind and “talk” with another person who seemed to be of a higher authority. I waited an entire hour at reception and was sent home because this person was too busy at a meeting.

    I call back whether to verify if I got through the interview or not and I’m told that “the message” will be passed on to the same person I waited to speak to on my interview.
    I never got a definitive answer yet, so I call in the next day and they tell me to come in for a second interview “for a couple of hours just to see where I fit in the office”. I come in and again I’m waiting to speak to this very same person and 20 minutes has passed by when the receptionist gets a call to inform me that my application form (possible my resume too) was lost and I was handed over a new sheet to fill out.

    Unbelievable! The staff were VERY kind and hospitable, but whomever they work for and the company’s organization and responsibility on an ethical note is lagging behind. I recommend NOT wasting your time and ever seeking employment with National Home Services. They mistreat you terribly.

  17. I had a job interview with National Home Services recently. After the interview, I was kept behind so that I could speak to another interviewer (I think it was the manager or some other authoritative figure). I waited for AN ENTIRE HOUR and still the person wasn’t available. I suggested leaving and coming back when I was 30 mins into the waiting but I was told this person would be coming out sooner or later.

    After the hour, she still wasn’t available for me to speak with, and so I was sent home.
    I call in the next day to get a definitive answer on the status of my application/interview. Without having a yes or no as an answer, I was told “the message will be passed on and she (the person I waited for last time) will call me back”.

    No one calls. I call back the next day. They tell me to come into the office”for a couple hours just to see where I fit in with my skills, and we’ll see from there”.
    I come in, and I find myself again waiting at the reception, it’s 20 mins past the appointment scheduled. The receptionist gets a call and informs me that my application form (and possibly my resume) wasn’t found and so I was handed a new form to fill out.

    Unbelievable! Although the staff were VERY KIND and sympathetic, whomever they work for and they company’s organization and responsibility management are terrible! I DO NOT recommend anyone applying at National Home Services, unless you enjoy being mistreated and disrespected like this. Don’t waste your time and guard your dignity.

Watts on your mind?

