flights of fancy

Canada’s indefensible minister Peter McKay has come under scrutiny for his bungling of a contract to purchase F35 jets.

Here’s a CBC piece from December 6th:
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/story/2012/12/06/poli-f35-pmo-government-fighter-jets.html

Unlike the F35 jets themselves the projected costs of purchasing and maintaining a fleet has sky rocketed, and no amount of spin can paint this issue as anything "conservative".

The fact that the Minister could overlook $20 Billion is outrageous.

I rarely find myself in agreement with Bob Rae, but I believe such a bungle does nothing to advance the nation’s confidence in Mr. McKay’s ability to continue his portfolio.

Perhaps it is appropriate that Mckay is a dead ringer for Gene Wilder’s Willy Wonka.

Wilder provided a great deal of input into the character of Wonka even so far as to craft the character’s entrance:

"When I make my first entrance, I’d like to come out of the door carrying a cane and then walk toward the crowd with a limp. After the crowd sees Willy Wonka is a cripple, they all whisper to themselves and then become deathly quiet. As I walk toward them, my cane sinks into one of the cobblestones I’m walking on and stands straight up, by itself; but I keep on walking, until I realize that I no longer have my cane. I start to fall forward, and just before I hit the ground, I do a beautiful forward somersault and bounce back up, to great applause."

You can watch it here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=sz9jc5blzRM#!

Wilder later revealed why he wanted Wonka to make that kind of entrance, stating that "from that time on, no one will know if I’m lying or telling the truth."

And no one did.

Just like his doppelgänger Peter McKay.

Aurora will be confronting it’s own boondoggle in January, that being the Aurora "Cultural" Centre and the unsustainable mess of its current lease and "cultural" services agreements.

I commented on the lack of faith that landed the town in this mess in a previous post here:
http://christopherwatts.posterous.com/leech-of-faith

When debated at the February 28th council meeting Clrs Thompson, Humfreys and Mayor Dawe did an unexpected somersault, one they have never since fully recovered.

From that time on Aurora hasn’t known how to read those three council members.

And if they are arrogant enough to try the same routine to win over the crowd this month it may just be their swan song.

Watts on your mind?

