trollympic gold

From time to time, I receive flack over my spelling from a jealous troll that lurks over on Clr. Buck’s blog .

I appreciate the objective e-mails and messages I do receive from readers notifying me of mistakes.

Often, I am writing on the fly, inspired by an interview or an observation and spelling mistakes often occur in attempting to share fresh content with a compressed amount of time to blog.

I used to type my posts in a separate text editor, edit them and than post. It became too time consuming and I stopped when other posts began to backlog.

Sure, I would love for another person to proofread my posts, catching every mistake, but that is not practical.

This is a personal blog.

What is overlooked in a rush to point out trivial mistakes is the content itself, as pointed out in this Chuck&Beans strip here:

The fact that this same troll has decided to further this in attempt to question my
competence only serves to question their own.

Competence is the ability to do something successfully or efficiently.

Entering its 5th year my blog has reached over 1000 posts.

There is no evidence that spelling has had an inverse effect on my posts engaging others in discussion.

Quite the opposite.

Analytics show growth in readership both returning and new.

Add to that over 280 comments have been left not including those on Social Media channels and other blogs and forums.

Contrast that with a troll solely fixated on pointing out spelling mistakes while spelling its own name “Anonymous”.

Either it lacks the competence necessary to spell its own name or it deserves a medal for being too much of a chicken shit to do so.

2 thoughts on “trollympic gold

  1. I wouldn’t worry about it too much Chris,

    I’ve seen spelling issues on my blog as well which leave me shaking my head sometimes and saying “what the heck was I thinking?”.

    TIP: The biggest change I have made is using Google Chrome to log into my blog instead of Internet Explorer. In Chrome as I type I get the red squiggly lines under the misspelled words exactly like Microsoft Word gives us. This catches most of misspellings and has made me a better speller while blogging on the fly.

    1. Thanks Michael.

      FYI I’m a Chrome user as well and have the dictionary enabled. I often post via email (got used to it with Posterous) and find sometimes when adjusting the formatting of text the dictionary tool is suspended making it look like the check has run, but it hasn’t.

      It may be time to explore the WordPress app further and bypass the whole email thing entirely.

Watts on your mind?

