Ho Ho Hooray!

Getting back online after a most enjoyable holiday with my family and I see from Evelyn Buck’s blog that Santa brought the troll there a butt-plug one size too big.

It started with a childish “oh snap” comment suggesting somehow that I do not write a regular blog that invites conversation: https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=4506868496663273256&postID=6241353934430198577

A comment that is later refuted by another, or most likely the same ass-hat commenter that states “Of course he invites conversation – on his own terms and by showing you identity.”

More on that about-face in a second. Let’s explore the oozing stupidity this troll has offered in their “witty” exchange in its entirety:

“I can “access” it but a quick survey on the first page of “witty” postings the actual count of comments equals zero.”

If the troll actually surveyed the landing page of this blog they would find comments on the following posts: https://wattstrending.wordpress.com/2014/10/26/certificate-of-authenticity/ https://wattstrending.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/the-children-the-children/

It appears that this troll’s ability to investigate and survey is as non-existent as their courage to back up their words with their name.

And its ignorance doesn’t stop there.

“Even the press is allowed to keep their informants anonymous.”

Obviously the this troll possesses such limited comprehension it cannot differentiate my blog from “the press”, or the commenters on my blog from “informants”.

Which returns us to the troll’s underlying problem, the fact that I write a blog on my terms.

Terms that require two things:

1.) Comment author must fill out name and e-mail

2.) Users must be registered and logged in to comment

I have explained at length in previous posts why I established these settings for commenting, most recently here: https://wattstrending.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/engagement-isnt-about-attending-every-argument-youre-invited-to/ In which I included a quote from Mic Wright’s September 2012 piece in The Telegraph, which sums up my position:

“The sanctity of the right of anyone to comment on anything isn’t shared by the entire web. I believe fundamentally in the importance of debate and the rights of readers to attack my words. But the idea that websites are obliged to host those comments and spend huge amounts of resources weeding out the barmy and the bigoted is wrong. Ask yourself: how often have you genuinely learned something valuable from a comment section? If we can’t have a decent debate, is that debate worth having to begin with?”

Looking back over 2014 I see that I added 145 new posts to my blog. Some posts received comments on the blog itself, others received comments and exchanges on twitter and facebook channels as well as through email and in person.

I’m satisfied with the level of engagement my blog has and you’re damn right I blog on my terms. I look forward to doing more of the same in 2015.

If pathetic trolls don’t like it they can opt to not read my blog (which seems unlikely) or start their own (which also seems unlikely) or they can of course print out the comments they wish to spew here and follow these instructions:

Watts on your mind?

